blouse patterns · seamstress · Sewing · Sewing for women · sewing patterns · women's fashion · Women's tops

Monique Top by Sinclair Patterns

Do you know what I love? Randomly stumbling across new to me pattern designers on social media. It’s like finding buried treasure! I began following Sinclair Patterns because I really loved her style. Everything she designed and posted was very classy and elegant; I wanted to see more. A tester call was posted some time ago for the Monique Top and I just couldn’t resist the beauty…. I had to apply! That test brings me my latest “show and tell” for all my readers.

The Monique top is a women’s woven blouse pattern that features an off the shoulder (or “cold shoulder”) design with a ruffle across the chest. Included in the blouse is bust darts, elastic in the arms of the ruffle, and a lined yoke. There is enough ease in the pattern to allow for an easy, over the head, pull on style. No zippers!

As always, the fabric you choose will determine the final look of a garment. Stiffer/sturdier fabrics will pull away from the body, while lightweight fabrics will give a nice drape and flowy appearance. For the top you see pictured, I opted for the latter. The main body and yoke is a lightweight rayon from The Fabric Outlet and the ruffle is a double Georgette from Fabric.com.

If you’re interested in adding lace (or any other trim) to your ruffle on this pattern like I did, make sure you calculate how much you need to take off your ruffle piece prior to cutting. I chose a 1.5″ wide piece of lace, so I folded up the bottom of my pattern 1″ (as I intended to cover my 0.5″ hemline with the lace). After that assemble everything as usual, hem your ruffle as stated, then as your final step: attach your trim! Super simple and it gives the garment a whole new look!

Leave a Reply

