seamstress · Sewing · Sewing for women · women's fashion

My First Pinspiration

Pinterest: the place you lose hours of time saving amazing things you might never find the time to buy or try…. Except this week…. I actually attempted to recreate a dress I saved on my fashion inspiration board. I saw it, I fell in love with the side view, but the bodice just wasn’t practical; sewing skills to the rescue though!

The original dress was a white, floral, halter style dress with a center split front, very deep, open back, and a high-low skirt. Gorgeous dress, but just wasn’t going to work for a mom of 3 active kids (aka my boobs were guaranteed to fall out). So, I pulled from the dress the aspects I liked most: white floral fabric, halter neck, & high-low skirt… from there, I was able to narrow down which pattern in my stash would work.

The pattern I chose to use was The Date Night Dress by Rad Patterns. Why this one? Well, the dress is a halter, it provided the back coverage I wanted in case I decided to wear a bra, breastfeeding friendly​ (but still kept things looking sexy), and the skirt could easily be modified to a high-low like I wanted.

Now, I say I thought it’d be easy to modify the skirt, and although it was for the most part, it is definitely something I’m going to have to work on to perfect as I had to alter my original idea as I went along. Next time I’ll be sure to factor in seam allowance, and whether I’ll be hemming the skirt or not. Practice makes perfect, right?

Ultimately, I think it turned out beautiful. I definitely intend on making some shorts, or a slip, to go under it though. I see more dresses like it in my future; perhaps with an even more “dramatic” skirt than this one. Let me know what you think; tell/show me something that has pinspired you!

And in case anyone was curious, the floral fabric is a beautiful ITY from Pretty Posh Prints and I lined the bodice with some random, white cotton lycra I received in a mystery box from Sincerely Rylee.

Leave a Reply

